Who’s Got Time to Write?

Marguerite Floyd
3 min readAug 27, 2021

metrics, stats, SEOs, monetization, and marketing, oh my!

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

Back in the Olden Days circa 1970s, a person simply sat down at the typewriter or used pencil and paper and wrote whatever was on their mind. Sure, it could be aggravating to retype when it came time for rewriting to improve the quality, but it was all there in black and white. There was the added bonus of a lovely sense of accomplishment as you pulled the freshly typed page out of the typewriter with a jaunty snap: “Look what I wrote!”

Alas, I can no longer just sit down and write, the way writers used to do before we were all taken over by computers. Now I have to worry about SEOs. Yes, this sort of thing comes after the first draft, but it’s still a time-consuming distraction. I have to devote much of my brain to understanding what an SEO is (search engine optimization), what it’s used for, and how best to casually insert it into my writing, like a silent fart at a cocktail party.

Young woman with a drink stretched out on a bar.
bar-1076996_1920

If I have to insert different words into my writing, isn’t that changing my writing? And if it’s changing my writing why should I bother rewriting? What good were all the words I’ve written and books I’ve read and classes I’ve taken and workshops…

--

--

Marguerite Floyd

I’m a writer, editor, poet, parrot person, and author of four books. You can reach me via e-mail at mdfloyd@gmail.com